Pakistan School Muscat Women’s team claims championship

Sports Saturday 04/February/2023 14:43 PM
By: Times News Service
Pakistan School Muscat Women’s team claims championship

Muscat: Pakistan School Muscat Women’s team beat Indian Social Club Women’s by 6 wickets in the final of the Oman Cricket Women’s League Season 2022-23 powered by TM Done.

In the lead to the final, PSM Women’s registered 3 victories in 4 games while ISC Women’s also registered 3 victories in 4 games, their only defeat was against PSM Women’s in the league stage of the tournament.

PSM Women’s won the toss and put ISC to bat first. ISC’s Suhaan iDadhwal (30 of 51; 2x4) and Geetha Jagdish (27 of 48;3x4) stitched a steady 69 run partnership for the 2nd wicket stand. ISC were cruising to put up a formidable total but PSM Women’s did well to restrict them. Sani E Zehra, Sameera Khan and Hina Javed picked up a wicket each to end ISC Women’s team on 108/4 in 20 overs.

In response, Hina Javed (25 of 33; 2x4) and skipper Sameera Khan (32 of 28; 3x4) created a base for them to get the target with ease. Hira Javed (17 of 23; 1x4) contributed to the chase to take them over the line in 17.1 overs losing 4 wickets.

Trupti Pawde, Flavia Dsouza and Sushma Shetty bagged a wicket each.

In the post match presentation ceremony , Paul Sheridan – Vice Chairman, Oman Cricket, Ms.Vaishali Jesrani – Women’s Co-Ordinator and Board Advisor and Duleep Mendis – Chief Development Officer, Oman Cricket were present.

Vaishali Jesrani addressed the opening note, said, “ I would firstly thank Oman Cricket and its board to back and help develop cricket among women in Oman. I would also like to thank the participating teams, their management and the participants for putting up great cutting-edge competitiveness in every game.I would congratulate PSM Women and ISM Women for their podium finish. We envision having 8 teams in the Women’s Domestic League in the coming years and we expect each and everyone to contribute to be able to play ICC tournaments in the near future. We are also looking to play more cricket through the calendar year and look forward to your participation.”

The player of the match for the final was handed by Duleep Mendis to Sameera Khan. The league accolades comprising of Best Batting was handed to Nikitha Jagdish (ISM Women’s) and Best Bowler was handed to Sameera Khan (PSM Women’s). The player of the tournament was bagged by Hina Javed (PSM Women’s) for her all-round performance during the league. Paul Sheridan handed the Runners Up trophy to ISC Women’s skipper, Trupti Pawde and handed the Champions Trophy to PSM Women’s skipper, Sameera Khan to conclude the Season 2022-23 of the Women’s Domestic Cricket League in Grand Style.